YouthTube Books and Art

Encouraging Early Literacy and Children's Creativity

Welcome to Youth-Tube On The Plum Tree

We love putting children first. We want to encourage early literacy and children’s creativity. We will feature reviews by our young readers. We are so lucky to have 10 year-old, Erik The Great, helping us with this project! Erik writes a brilliant blog, This Kid Reviews Books, and will be sharing some of his review with us.

We will also feature special books for special children. Patricia Howe Tilton writes a wonderful blog Children’s Books Heal and will be sharing some of her recommendations and reviews with us…

Children’s art, will be headed up by Marta Pelrine-Bacon…P.s. Marta did the art-work for the logos we use and for the background. Visit her wonderful page The Fairytale Asylum

View our Youth-Tube video made for us by Janet Young Beasley, author of YA epic fantasy, Maycly. The Music by Jorg Bankowski will make your toes tap.

We encourage children to submit music, videos…anything that engages childhood imagination and celebrates the world of the child. I hope you will participate in this blog. Send us your special reviews, children’s art, children’s book releases…

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

13 comments on “Welcome to Youth-Tube On The Plum Tree

  1. De Ann Native
    June 29, 2012

    I am in absolute Amazing Awe of the pic used for this….so dreamy and enchanting Niamh, sonrisa….

  2. Tonia Marie Houston
    June 29, 2012

    This is wonderful, Niamh! I am delighted and could give Marta a big hug for her artwork- it hints at sweetness and magic.

  3. April Thomas
    June 30, 2012

    I do love the image above. Speaks volumes. God bless Youth Tube

    • ontheplumtree
      June 30, 2012

      Thank You April. It is so sweet and really reflects everything I hope that Youth Tube will be about. Thank You to Marta Pelrine=Bacon for finding it for us. There are many such images on our Plum Tree Pinterest site.

  4. thiskidreviewsbooks
    June 30, 2012

    I am very excited to be part of Youth Tube! I am letting all my friends know about it and hopefully they will want to send things in! Thanks for doing this! 🙂

    • ontheplumtree
      June 30, 2012

      We are very excited to have you here, Erik. Having a ten year-0ld review children’s books is just the best. Would love to have your friends join in too.

  5. Amy Barry
    June 30, 2012

    Brilliant work! Love the beautiful image here, Martha. The sweet, naive image of a child, and immersed with books.
    Well done All.

    • ontheplumtree
      June 30, 2012

      Thank you, Amy. I thought this picture suited the theme so well.

  6. Betty Dravis
    July 2, 2012

    Too precious for words, but I’ll say a few, anyway! Two of my favorite things in life: books and little girls. Aw-wwwww… ❤

    Heart Hugs – Betty Dravis

  7. Jodi Stone
    July 2, 2012

    Hi there! I have just visited after you left the nice comment on my author/illustrator page…I absolutely love what you’re doing here. The art is so whimsical. It is all about what I stand for and believe in. Children rush to grow up too fast, and I believe through a healthy imagination we can encourage kids to enjoy every ounce of life!

    • ontheplumtree
      July 2, 2012

      Thank You Jodi. Everything is an adventure. A child’s imagination is so fertile and precious.

      • Jodi Stone
        July 2, 2012

        I couldn’t agree more! What would we do in life without adventure and imagination?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Navigation

