YouthTube Books and Art

Encouraging Early Literacy and Children's Creativity

Book review by Erik W. A.K.A. This Kid Reviews Books Age 10 for Youth Tube on Plum Tree Books

Seeds of Rebellion – Beyonders Book  2

By Brandon Mull

Published by Aladdin on March 13, 2012

512 pages – ages 8+

Jason needs to get back to Lyrian, a land he cannot stop thinking about since he escaped from it. When Jason finds his way back, he has to find his old allies from Lyrian and the other Beyonder (a Beyonder is someone not from Lyrian) he met before he left the first time, Rachel. Rachel stayed in Lyrian when Jason went home. She found that she has magical abilities that will help them on the adventure they are about to go on. The group of friends soon realizes there are new dangers in Lyrian. They need to convince new allies to join them if they want to defeat the evil emperor Maldor and stop his plan to rule Lyrian.

I loved the first Beyonders book (A World Without Heroes) and I think the second book in the series is even better! I can’t pick out a favorite character because I really liked them all (even the bad guys J). Jason and Rachel were great main characters and so were all their Lyrian friends. The plot to the story is just awesome. It’s a real good vs. evil battle with awesome heroes and terrible bad guys. I love the story also because it is action packed and exciting but it is also totally appropriate for younger kids (OK, I was a bit creeped out when they had to travel through a land of the living dead, but it really wasn’t that bad – I get creeped out easy J). The reading level and length of the book makes it a great novel for advanced readers looking for an adventure story.

On a scale of one to five, I’d give it a seven!

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

18 comments on “Book review by Erik W. A.K.A. This Kid Reviews Books Age 10 for Youth Tube on Plum Tree Books

  1. ontheplumtree
    July 2, 2012

    Love this Erik! We are so excited to feature your reviews on Youth Tube!

  2. Joanna Marple
    July 2, 2012

    So cool to see you reviewing here too, Erik. I always look forward to your opinions on a book. BTW, I get creeped out easily too, so appreciate your warnings.

    • ontheplumtree
      July 2, 2012

      We are very lucky to have Erik here. And looking forward to introducing some new children’s authors also! Thank You for stopping by, Joanna.

    • thiskidreviewsbooks
      July 2, 2012

      Thank you Miss Marple! At least we have something similar! 🙂 It wasn’t THAT creepy, it’s just I don’t like zombies that much.

  3. Pingback: 12×12 Update, Youth Tube, Awards and Goals Met! « This Kid Reviews Books

  4. Patricia Tilton
    July 2, 2012

    As always, a great review! Glad to see your are participating in Youth Tube. You have a lot of talent to share, as well as books.

  5. Tonia Marie Houston
    July 2, 2012

    Thank you, Erik. I showed the review to my daughters, they are 10 and 12, and they wanted to add it to their summer reading list. My oldest doesn’t like zombies, either, She said she may just skip through that part. 🙂

    • ontheplumtree
      July 2, 2012

      Gosh! Tonia…I would LOVE to know what your girls like reading too.

    • thiskidreviewsbooks
      July 6, 2012

      Cool! I hope your daughters like it. Tell your oldest it isn’t THAT creepy… 😉

  6. Exploding Mary
    July 2, 2012

    Well done review– I think I’ll have to read this series, now.

  7. DarleneDralene Foster
    July 2, 2012

    Welcome to Youth Tube Erik. So great to have you here as your reviews are always excellent.

Leave a Reply

